ABB FIA Formula E Championship.

    Totally energised.

Client. ABB LTD.

Date. June 9-10, 2018

Services.

Creation, overall concept, organisation and implementation, various communication measures

How the ABB FIA Formula E Championship electrified us.

9 and 10 June 2018 will remain unforgettable – for Swiss e-racing fans, for ABB and for us. The Julius Bär Zurich E-Prix 2018, for which the event organiser Swiss E-Prix Operations AG assumed overall responsibility, was a resounding success! As the event expert for the main sponsor ABB, standing ovation took its place on the start grid.

Two pioneers in pole position  

“ABB and Formula E are a perfect match.“
Ulrich Spiesshofer, CEO ABB

“Today, two pioneers are joining forces. ABB and Formula E are a perfect match.” This is how Ulrich Siesshofer, ABB’s CEO, announced the Group’s new involvement in the field of electromobility in January 2018. Following the launch of this pioneering partnership in Marrakesh came the spectacular international sequel – the Julius Bär Zurich E-Prix, an ABB FIA Formula E Championship event. Expectations for the home race were very high. It was more than just a matter of victories and trophies: it was also about a unique new communication platform with which the subject of sustainable mobility in all its various facets could be presented to the general public in a passionate manner.

The race for positioning

The aim of ABB’s partnership was to position itself globally as the leader in the field of e-mobility, both externally and also within the Group. Several platforms were created for the Zurich launch – the gala for 350 guests, the ABB arena for 1,500 employees, the ABB technology forum for 400 specialists and the event for 400 guests during Sunday’s race. How could we create a unified and emotionally credible brand experience with this wide variety of participants? The answer to this question was to be found on the start/finish line.

The fascination of the start/finish line

With our spectacular three-storey “E-Cube” directly above the finish line, we and the Swiss E-Prix organisers were able to shape a landmark that brought everything together in an ingenious manner – brand experience and visibility, race experience and gala atmosphere, stakeholder meeting point and concert stage, infotainment and relaxation. The centrepiece of our event concept truly made the heart beat faster. Naomi Campbell was in the E-Cube, as were Emerson Fittipaldi, Jean Todt, Sébastien Buemi and of course many other prominent guests.

 

 

The big acceleration test

From 0 to 100kph in 2.9 seconds. The speed of the e-racing cars matched the pace of our workflow. From briefing to event in three months – an acceleration test for our creativity and a stress test for our project management.

“Yes, we can stay the course.”

“Yes, we can stay the course,” as the drivers say. From the very start, the team orders were that the organisational structure would be matrix-based. From the project launch, it was clear that we were the prime contractor. We were in the driver’s seat. The extreme complexity of the ABB events at the Julius Bär Zurich E-Prix with its numerous venues and up-market hospitality management called for strict top-down coordination and close cooperation with the client.

Fan boost included

The Julius Bär Zurich E-Prix 2018 and ABB’s presence were stunning for all those involved – at the end of the day, the race winners were not only Lucas di Grassi, but also ABB and standing ovation. For us, ABB’s presence at the first circuit race in Switzerland for over 60 years was a unique fan boost. Since then, we’ve been electrified.

We use cookies to help us give you the best possible user experience on our website. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to the use of cookies. More information about privacy can be found here.

Accept.
Trends. News. Live communication. Register now.

ABB FIA Formula E Championship.

    Voll unter Strom.

Client. ABB LTD.

Date. 9.-10. Juni 2018

Services.

Kreation, Gesamtkonzeption, Organisation und Umsetzung sowie diverse Kommunikationsmassnahmen

Wie uns die ABB FIA Formula E Championship elektrisiert hat.

Der 9. und der 10. Juni 2018 bleiben unvergesslich: für Schweizer E-Racing-Fans, für die ABB und für uns. Der Julius Bär Zürich E-Prix 2018 unter der Gesamtverantwortung des Veranstalters Swiss E-Prix Operations AG war ein voller Erfolg! standing ovation ging als Eventexperte des Hauptsponsors ABB an den Start.

Zwei Pioniere in der Pole Position  

„Die ABB und die Formula E passen perfekt zusammen.“
Ulrich Spiesshofer, CEO ABB

„Heute schliessen sich zwei Pioniere zusammen. Die ABB und die Formula E passen perfekt zusammen.“ So kündigte Ulrich Spiesshofer, CEO ABB, im Januar 2018 das neue Engagement des Konzerns im Bereich der Elektromobilität an. Nach dem Auftakt dieser Pionierpartnerschaft in Marrakesch folgte die spektakuläre internationale Fortsetzung: der Julius Bär Zürich E-Prix im Rahmen der ABB FIA Formula E Championship. Der Erwartungsdruck für das Heimrennen war hoch. Es ging um mehr als um Siege und Trophäen: Es ging um eine einzigartige neue Kommunikationsplattform, mit der das Thema nachhaltige Mobilität in seinen verschiedensten Facetten einer breiten Öffentlichkeit auf emotionale Weise nähergebracht werden konnte.

Das Race um die Positionierung

Ziel der ABB-Partnerschaft war es, sich weltweit als Leader im Bereich der Elektromobilität zu positionieren: sowohl nach aussen wie nach innen. Für die Aktivierung in Zürich wurden mehrere Plattformen geschaffen: die Gala für 350 Gäste, die ABB-Arena für 1500 Mitarbeitende, das ABB technology forum für 400 Spezialisten sowie ein Event mit 400 Gästen im Rahmen des Rennens am Sonntag. Wie können wir bei dieser Vielfalt von Teilnehmenden eine kohärente und emotional überzeugende Brand Experience kreieren? Die Frage wurde auf der Start/Finish Line entschieden.

Die Faszination der Start/Finish Line 

Mit dem spektakulären, dreistöckigen „E-Cube“ direkt über der Ziellinie gelang es uns, zusammen mit dem Veranstalter Swiss E-Prix, eine Landmark zu gestalten, die alles auf einen souveränen Nenner brachte: Brand Experience und Visibilität, Race-Erlebnis und Galaatmosphäre, Stakeholdertreffpunkt und Konzertbühne, Infotainment und Entspannung. Tatsächlich, das Herzstück unseres Eventkonzepts liess die Herzen höherschlagen: Naomi Campbell war im E-Cube, aber auch Emerson Fittipaldi, Jean Todt, Sébastien Buemi und selbstverständlich viele weitere prominente Gäste.

 

 

Der grosse Beschleunigungstest 

In 2,9 Sekunden von 0 auf 100 km/h. Das Tempo der E-Boliden taktete auch unseren Workflow. Vom Briefing bis zum Event in drei Monaten: ein Beschleunigungstest für unsere Kreativität und ein Belastungstest für unser Projektmanagement.

„Yes, we can stay the course.“

„Yes, we can stay the course“, wie die Piloten sagen. Die Stallorder lautete gleich von Beginn an: Wir halten uns bei der Organisation ans Matrixsystem! Vom Projektstart weg war klar: Wir sind GU. Wir sind im Driver’s Seat. Denn die aussergewöhnliche Komplexität der ABB-Events am Julius Bär Zürich E-Prix mit seinen zahlreichen Schauplätzen und dem anspruchsvollen Hospitality Management verlangte eine strikte Top-down-Koordination und eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunden.

Fanboost inklusive 

Der Event Julius Bär Zürich E-Prix 2018 sowie der ABB-Auftritt waren überwältigend für alle Beteiligten: So hiessen die Race Winners am Ende nicht nur Lucas di Grassi, sondern auch ABB und standing ovation. Für uns war der ABB-Auftritt am ersten in der Schweiz durchgeführten Rundstreckenrennen seit über 60 Jahren ein einzigartiger Fanboost. Seither sind wir elektrisiert.

Wir verwenden Cookies auf unserer Website, um Ihnen die bestmögliche Nutzererfahrung bieten zu können. Wenn Sie Ihren Besuch auf der Website fortsetzen, stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Weitere Informationen zum Datenschutz finden Sie hier.

Annehmen.
Trends. News. Live-Kommunikation. Jetzt registrieren.